Text Area: 
A History of Success

Eastern Music Festival's alumni numbers nearly 10,000. Many alumni have gone on to acclaimed solo, chamber music, and orchestral careers. Many have careers in arts management, health care, business, education, and law. We're proud and honored to be associated with each EMF alumni.

Text Area: 
Where Are You Now?

We love to keep in touch with our EMF alumni and want to hear about your passions and your memories. Tell us about where you are now, your family, your community, your favorite EMF moments. Send us photos from "back in the day" to share!

Text Area: 

For more information, email Melissa Edwards, Director of Education & Admissions, or call (336) 333-7450 x227.

Text Area: 

Distinguished alumni include:

Violin Alumni
Brian Lee

San Francisco Ballet Orchestra

Gail Norine Sharp

Columbus Symphony Orchestra

Carol Ruzicka

Faculty-Cleveland Institute of Music

Yumi Hwang-Williams

Colorado Symphony


Stefani Collins Matsuo

Concertmaster of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Ida Bieler

Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf, 
University of North Carolina School of the Arts

Eliot Chapo

Florida State University, 
Former concertmaster of the New York Philharmonic and the Dallas Symphony

Anne Donaldson

Alabama School of Fine Arts,  University of Alabama at Birmingham

Ann Frink

St. Louis Symphony

Rebecca Boyer Hall

St. Louis Symphony

Miran Kim

Metropolitan Opera Orchestra

Emily Rist Glover

North Carolina Symphony

Anikó Kovács

Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra

Ingang Han

Jacksonville Symphony

Eva Kozma

St. Louis Symphony

Courtney LeBauer

Converse College

Jessica McJunkins

Independent Artist (Beyonce, Solange)

Diana Lupo

Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra

Scott Mozlin

Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Jeffrey Multer

Concertmaster of the Florida Orchestra

Bruce Patti

Dallas Symphony

Angie Smart

St. Louis Symphony

Guillaume Sutre

University of California-Los Angeles

Viola Alumni
Antoine Tamestit

Concert Artist - 2001 William Primrose Competition Winner

Susan Pardue

Jacksonville Symphony

Victoria Chiang

Peabody Conservatory of Music 

Eliesha Nelson

Cleveland Orchestra

Chauncey Patterson

Conservatory of Music, Lynn University

Geraldine Walther

Takás String Quartet, University of Colorado-Boulder

Diane Phoenix-Neal

James Madison University

Cello Alumni
Thalia Moore

San Francisco Opera Orchestra,
San Francisco Ballet Orchestra

Michael Fitzpatrick

Earth's Call Foundation

Sterling Elliot

Sphinx Competition Laureate (2019)

Jennifer Combs

Hartford Symphony Orchestra

Robert deMaine

Principal Cello, Los Angeles Philharmonic

Bryan Dumm

Cleveland Orchestra, Cleveland State University

David Hardy

Principal of the National Symphony Orchestra, Peabody Conservatory

David Kim

St. Louis Symphony

Thomas Kraines

Daedalus Quartet

Alvin McCall

St. Louis Symphony

Marc Moskovitz

ProMusica Chamber Orchestra

Rachel Young

National Symphony Orchestra

Double Bass Alumni
Bruce Ridge

North Carolina Symphony

Larry Epstein

San Francisco Symphony

Xavier Foley

2014 Sphinx Competition Winner

Travis Gore

Seattle Symphony

Erik Harris

St. Louis Symphony

Jim Lambert

Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Anthony Manzo

New Century Chamber Orchestra, 
Smithsonian Chamber Players

John Moore

Pittsburg Symphony

Kurt Reicken

Charlotte Symphony

Tristan Sutton

Bergen Philharmonic

Rion Wentworth

New York Philharmonic

Flute Alumni
Rachel Taratoot Ciraldo

Principal Flute - Baton Rouge Symphony Orchestra

David Cramer

The Philadelphia Orchestra, Temple University

Jake Fridkis

Principal Flute-Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra

Elizabeth Ostling

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Gabe Fridkis

Fort Worth Symphony

Oboe Alumni
Karen Birch Blundell

Freelance Musician in New York City

Emily Brebach

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Jennifer Christen

Indianapolis Symphony

Colin Gatwood

Houston Symphony

Laura Griffiths

San Francisco Ballet Orchestra

Kevin Pearl

Milwaukee Symphony

Yvonne Powers Peterson

Associate Principal Oboe, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Elizabeth Koch Tiscione

Principal Oboe, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

English Horn Alumni
Cally Banham

St. Louis Symphony

Clarinet Alumni
Joseph Beverly

3rd/Bass Clarinet with The Florida Orchestra

Todd Cope

Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal

Richie Hawley

Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Rice University

Brian Hysong

Bass Clarinet, New York City Ballet Orchestra

Tom Legrand

Houston Symphony, Rice University

Ricardo Morales

The Philadelphia Orchestra, The Juilliard School, Curtis Institute

Chelsea Tipton

Music Director-Symphony of Southeast Texas, Principal Pops Conductor-New Haven Symphony

Brad Whitfield

Alabama Symphony

Bassoon Alumni
Andrew Brady

Principal Bassoon, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Sue Heineman

National Symphony Orchestra, University of Maryland

Patrick Johnson-Whitty

San Francisco Ballet Orchestra

Horn Alumni
Beth Beeson

Nashville Symphony

Ross Snyder

Omaha Symphony

Nathaniel Silberschlag

Principal Horn, Cleveland Orchestra

Nicholas Caluori

West Point Band

Nicole (de la Cal) Caluori

West Point Band

Oliver de Clercq

Vancouver Symphony Orchestra

Matthew Eckenhoff

Louisiana Philharmonic

Jacob DiEdwardo

Axiom Brass

Melanie Erena

Axiom Brass

Kristin Joham

Spokane Symphony, Eastern Washington University

Charles Putnam

American Horn Quintet

Hunter Sholar

Nashville Symphony

Zachary Smith

Pittsburgh Symphony, Duquesne University

Ernie Tovar

Fourth Horn, Philadelphia Orchestra

Julie Beckel Yager

Indianapolis Symphony

Trumpet Alumni
Bibi Black

Soloist and Recording Artist

Karin Bliznik

St. Louis Symphony

Josef Burgstaller

Peabody Institute, Former member of the Canadian Brass

Kevin Finamore

Dallas Symphony Orchestra

Billy R. Hunter, Jr.

Metropolitan Opera Orchestra

Manny Laureano

Minnesota Orchestra

Wynton Marsalis

Soloist and Recording Artist

Mark Niehaus

President & Executive Director, Milwaukee Symphony

Brandon Ridenour

Soloist and former member of the Canadian Brass

Alex Wilborn

Principal Trumpet, Charlotte Symphony

Daniel Taubenheim

San Antonio Symphony

Trombone Alumni
Thomas Riccobono

Low Brass Instructor-Interlochen Arts Academy

James Box

Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal

Delfeayo Marsalis

Composer and Producer

Ward Stare

Music Director of the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra, Conductor of the Lyric Opera of Chicago

Bass Trombone Alumni
David Ridge

San Francisco Opera Orchestra

Nicholas Schwartz

New York City Ballet Orchestra

Tuba Alumni
JáTtik Clark

Oregon Symphony, 
Portland State University

TJ Graf

The Florida Orchestra

Aden Beery

U.S. Naval Academy Band

Kevin Harrison

Axiom Brass, Wheaton College

Percussion Alumni
Keith Carrick

Utah Symphony

Matthew Decker

Seattle Symphony

David Fishlock

Cincinnati Symphony

Kristopher Keeton

Pershing's Own U.S. Army Ceremonial Band

Jason Marsalis

Soloist and Recording Artist

Rolando Morales-Matos

Percussion and Assistant Conductor for The Lion King, Curtis Institute of Music, Temple University

Nick Sakakeeny

Fort Worth Symphony

Harp Alumni
Bridget Kibbey

Bard Conservatory, New York University, Juilliard Pre-College

Anna Kate Mackle

The Florida Orchestra

Piano Alumni
Paul Schuyler Phillips

Director of Orchestras & Chamber Music-Brown University

Michael Chertock

University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music

Jeremy Denk

2014 Avery Fisher Prize, 2014 Musical America's Instrumentalist of the Year, 2013 MacArthur Fellow

James Giles

Northwestern University

Christopher Guzman

Penn State University

Randall Hodgkinson

New England Conservatory

Chu-Fang Huang

2011 Avery Fisher Career Grant Recipient, 2005 Van Cliburn Finalist

Gustavo Romero

University of North Texas

Gideon Rubin

Director of the Los Angeles Music and Art School

Andrew Tyson

2016 Young Concert Artists

Sylvia Wang

Northwestern University